Joint CINT, OSE, & CHTM Seminar by Dr. Hou-Tong Chen on Active Metamaterials and Metasurfaces

Departmental News

Dr. Hou-Tong Chen

Posted: April 24, 2019

Date: Thursday, April 25, 2019 

Time:  11:00 AM to Noon

Location:  CHTM, Room 103

Map to CHTM:

ADA Accommodations are available.  Please send your request via email.


Dr. Hou-Tong Chen

Technical Staff Member

Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies at Los Alamos 


Two-dimensional metamaterials – metasurfaces – offer tremendous opportunities in realizing exotic optical phenomena and functionalities. Through tailoring the resonant response of basic building blocks as well as their mutual interactions, they enable effective control of amplitude, phase, and polarization state of optical reflection, transmission, absorption and emission, as well as wavefront shaping and beam forming. By integrating functional materials such as semiconductors and graphene at critical regions of the resonators, hybrid metasurfaces allow enhanced light-matter interactions and accomplish dynamic switching, active tuning, and enhanced nonlinearity. In this talk I will present the augmented metasurface functionalities through both structural design and materials integration, showing the promising potential of metasurfaces toward real-world applications.  


Dr. Hou-Tong Chen is a Technical Staff Member in the Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies (CINT) at Los Alamos National Laboratory. He received B.S. and M.S. degrees from University of Science and Technology of China in 1997 and 2000, and a Ph.D. degree from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in 2004, all in physics. His research interests include metamaterials and metasurfaces, terahertz science and technology, ultrafast nanophotonics, and near-field microscopy. He has published over 80 journal papers and delivered nearly 100 invited technical presentations in conferences and accredited research institutions. He served as the Conference Chair for the 8th International Conference on Optical Terahertz Science and Technology in 2019. He is a recipient of LANL Fellows’ Prize for Outstanding Research in 2015. He is a Fellow of American Physical Society (APS, 2015) and Optical Society (OSA, 2018).